Buccaneer Blogfest Day Two!

Why the heck am I doing this? (Day Two)

A day late (and a ten-spot short) here is my post on why I started blogging…

I’ve been writing online for roughly ten years. I still have my original livejournal account and until recently posted everything there.  However, the more I looked back at my posts I saw mostly unproductive rambling and complaining.  I grabbed this blog (dmrodriguez.wordpress.com) back in 2008 and started to post here, but eventually I abandoned it and went back to LJ, where all of my online writing friends were (since none of them cared to abandon that platform).  As time passed, less and less of my friends were online any more and slowly my LJ feed went from a torrent to a dribble.  It was time.

This blog is an attempt to consolidate my online ‘presence’ as it were, pulling my writing from LJ and my art from DeviantArt and linking to my Twitter feed all in one place.  Thus… making it easier than ever for people to stalk me.

My initial goal was to post something every day, but as you can tell, I haven’t been able to maintain that schedule.  My new goal is to post twice a week (thrice during BBF) since come August I’ll be back in school (AAS in Network Security).  I’m really looking forward to next week’s BBF prompts as well as going around other participant’s blogs.  I’ll be skipping out on tomorrow’s prompt (interview) since every question I would have asked someone was covered over the last few days.

Also, I’m trying to not get too attached to this blog because WordPress has been twitchy and very annoying.  It ate a lengthy, completed post and has several odd glitches (like the quick post form glitching out) and quirks.  So, dear readers… do you have another platform you’d recommend that isn’t WordPress?

One response to “Buccaneer Blogfest Day Two!

  1. Rambling and complaining isn’t unproductive, and it’s fun to read! But I have to admit…I had an LJ along those lines and after many many entries, I deleted it. Anyhow, nice to meet you! I like “Cherry Blossom” a lot.

Leave a Reply

