Buccaneer Blogfest Intro!

I was out for several days and neglected to prepare a post ahead of time for the Buccaneer Blogfest, a chance to get connected to the writing community.

The first prompt was: (July 9) Introduction: Tell us a little bit about you and your blog. Post the sign up linky for this blogfest in your post. Include your other social media links so we can follow.

Thankfully, I’m only a day behind… so let’s do this.

I’m me.  Husband, Father, Nerd, Gamer.  I try and keep things in that particular order, with varying degrees of success.  My blog is about my writing, my art and random thoughts I have related to how I see the world (I talk a little bit about it in “Growing Up Whitespanic“).

I’ve been making up and telling stories for the majority of my life (also known as lying) and I’ve been writing them down since middle school.  Most of those are thankfully lost though a thread of one of those ideas still exists in my current writing (the struggle to maintain the Balance between Light and Dark).  I have been doing a lot of world-building over the years, heavily influenced by my love of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis and Anne McCaffrey.  Other influences include Square Enix’s Final Fantasy video game series (7,8 and 10 hold a special place in my heart), The Matrix Trilogy of movies and the original Star Wars trilogy.  I love epic battles between good and evil, but also love the idea of the heroes of my stories being just one small part in a greater battle.  For example, in one of my books the hero’s entire struggle ends and very little seems to change.  However his struggle serves the purpose of providing an environment for a ‘key’ person to grow up in and provide the future a chance at having a great leader.  There is a person weaving these stories together, a common thread who binds the various stories together into one plan.

As far as art is concerned, I started getting into art because of fight.  A fight with my band teacher.  In class.   The next day, I was placed into Art.  Two months before the end of the school-year.  That instructor, Mr. Parra,  did his level best to bring me up to speed with a crash course in art… and I’ve been hooked ever since.  My work tends to be stylized and unfortunately I still suck at figure drawing!  Most of my work is for personal enjoyment though I have been commissioned by family for some larger pieces.

I tend to ramble somewhat and usually it is some fragment of a short story thread that has wormed its way into my brain.  My blog is an outlet for my thoughts, for ideas that refuse to die, for thoughts that buzz around inside of my skull until I think I might lose what little mind I have…

Welcome, to the Ramblings of a Madman.  Mind your step.

Questions? Comments? Hate-mail?  You can reach me at via twitter (linked on the right of my blog), via email at d.m.rodriguez at gmail dot com, or just comment below!

Note: WordPress hates javascript so the code for Buccaneer Blog Fest doesn’t work properly.  Please visit Jessa Russo’s site for more info on Buccaneer Blog Fest!

3 responses to “Buccaneer Blogfest Intro!

Leave a Reply

