Here. We. Go.

So, I submitted something to a ‘slush pile’ contest of sorts.  Spent all day tweaking my query and to be honest, I am starting to freak out just a LOT.

You see, I haven’t put myself out there in… years?  Getting 70 rejection letters back practically all in the same week crushed any desire I had to continue writing for a very long time.  I’ve done a little dabbling, here and there, but for the most part I shelved my writing completely.

Then, an interest in painting/drawing again recently resurfaced and shortly after ideas to write again as well.  So here I am, at it again.

The contest is randomly drawn, and there are already 15+ comments thanking @AuthoressAnon for doing this so who knows how many actual entries there are [edit 125 total queries!]. I fully expect to NOT get randomly selected, but I did this more for me (pressure!) than for anything else.

Do one thing every day that scares you. – Eleanor Roosevelt

That certainly qualified.  Now, on to tweak it yet again.

[Update!]

So now I am really panicking. I was selected to have my query posted for public critique, then the five strongest (as chosen by the blogger) will be invited to submit the first 500 words for a second public critique.

If you’re interested, check out all of the Baby Slushpile queries at: http://misssnarksfirstvictim.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

